THE TUSCAN CHILD by Rhys Bowen

Set in the stunning Italian countryside and packed with mystery and intrigue, THE TUSCAN CHILD (Lake Union Publishing; On-sale February 20, 2018) is a riveting multigenerational novel about love, war, and family secrets from New York Times bestseller Rhys Bowen.

#1 New York Times bestselling author Louise Penny raves that “Rhys Bowen is one of the very best fiction writers of the day…she rises above her contemporaries.”

Hugo Langley is serving as a British bomber pilot in World War II when his plane is shot down over Tuscany. Badly wounded, he falls into the care of Sofia—a woman who will change his life and haunt him forever. Nearly 30 years later, Hugo’s daughter Joanna discovers an unopened letter to Sofia among her father’s personal effects—and in it, a startling revelation about his past.

Joanna then embarks on a journey to unravel the mystery of her father’s life—a search that will carry her to the rolling hills of Tuscany and plunge her deep into a long-buried family secret.

About the Author




Rhys Bowen is the New York Times bestselling author of more than 30 novels, including In Farleigh Field and three award-winning historical mystery series. Her works have garnered multiple Agatha, Anthony, and MacAvity awards.


More about The Tuscan Child by Rhys Bowen On-sale February 20, 2018

 The year is 1944, and Hugo Langley is a serving as a bomber pilot in the British air force during World War II and looking forward to inheriting Langley Hall when he returns to England after the war. But when his plane is suddenly shot down over the German-occupied region of Tuscany, he finds himself badly wounded and falls into the care of a young Italian mother named Sofia—a woman who will change his life and haunt him forever. Set in the stunning Italian countryside and packed with mystery and intrigue, THE TUSCAN CHILD (Lake Union Publishing; On-sale February 20, 2018) is a riveting multigenerational novel about love, war, and family secrets from Rhys Bowen, New York Times bestselling author of more than 30 novels and three award-winning historical mystery series. Nearly 30 years after Hugo’s fateful plane crash, his estranged daughter Joanna—the child of a late-in-life marriage—returns to the family estate in the English countryside to help arrange her father’s funeral. But while Joanna hopes to lay her father and their complicated relationship to rest, what she discovers instead is an unopened letter addressed to a woman named Sofia—and in it, a startling revelation about her father’s mysterious past.


As she attempts to navigate her grief for the father who always kept her at arm’s length, Joanna embarks on a journey to uncover Hugo Langley’s hidden secrets—and to better understand his regrets and buried pain. Joanna’s search carries her to the rolling and verdant hills of Tuscany. In the small village of San Salvatore, nestled deep in the heart of the Chianti region, Joanna makes the acquaintance of the locals and works to unravel the secret history of her often distant father— and, at the same time, discover her own place in the world.

THE TUSCAN CHILD is a haunting and transporting novel about love and betrayal, parents and children, the secrets that separate us, and the ties that bind us together forever. . . . . . . . . Rhys Bowen is the New York Times bestselling author of over thirty mystery novels. Her work includes In Farleigh Field, a standalone novel of World War II; the Molly Murphy mysteries, set in 1900s New York City; the Royal Spyness novels, featuring a minor royal in 1930s England; and the Constable Evans mysteries about a police constable in contemporary Wales. Rhys’s works have won multiple Agatha, Anthony, and MacAvity awards. Her books have been translated into many languages, and she has fans from around the world, including the 12,000 who visit her Facebook page daily. She is a transplanted Brit who now divides her time between California and Arizona. Connect with her at rhysbowen.com. 



A Conversation with Author Rhys Bowen 

Q: This novel takes place in both the 1940s, where readers get glimpses of Hugo Langley’s experience as a soldier in World War II, and the 1970s, where we follow Hugo’s daughter Joanna as she tries to unpack the mystery of her father’s life. Where did you get the idea for this two-part, multigenerational narrative, and how did you go about balancing the narrative between the two difference eras? 

A: I have always loved books that take place in multiple time periods, but this was a challenge for me, as I’d never tried to write that kind of story myself. But I’d been dying to write about Tuscany, where I was writer-in-residence last summer and will be again next summer. So the place is already special to me, and I thought it would be fun to write a mystery about what happened to Joanna’s father in WWII. As to balancing the narratives: I wrote Hugo’s story first, then Joanna’s story. Then I physically placed the chapters in Joanna’s story all the way down my hallway and decided where to slot in Hugo’s chapters. It worked well! 

Q: Joanna is a wonderful female protagonist. What was your inspiration for her character, and how does she differ from some of your other leading ladies? 

A: Some of my leading ladies have been feisty and had great support groups. Joanna is different in that she’s more vulnerable: she has grown up without a mother, in a difficult environment, and we meet her at a low point in her life. So the challenge was not to make her a victim but to allow her to rise and triumph through her own efforts. 

Q: Much of this book takes place in Tuscany in the 1940s and 1970s — what kind of research did you have to do to write about this area and those time periods authentically? Did you travel to Italy while doing research for the novel and if so, what did that involve? 



A: I’ve been to Tuscany several times, starting when I travelled with my aunt first in my teens, then my 20s. So I had actually been in Italy around the time Joanna visited. I stayed with my husband in my college friend’s flat near Cortona one year and played at being an Italian housewife (which worked well until I went to the butcher to order a chicken, and I got the whole bird, including head and feet!) And as I mentioned, I was writer-in-residence conducting a workshop in Chianti last year. The professor who runs the workshop is from an old Tuscan family, so I used him to check my facts. As for getting everything right about WWII, I stayed with other college friends in Lincolnshire and visited WWII airbases that are now museums. I looked at planes, parachutes, letters home, helmets, and flight suits, and I met experts who told me more than I actually needed to know about the Blenheim Bomber (experts are always keen to share their subject!). 

Q: Your last novel, In Farleigh Field, also focused on World War II. What do you find so fascinating about that period in history, and why do you think it makes for such a rich setting for writers of historical fiction? 

A: I have always found the era fascinating, I suppose because I was born in the middle of it and my family had to endure it. I grew up with tales of bombings, of my father’s experiences in Egypt with the Eighth Army, and I was always impressed with how matter-of-fact the stories were. People were so brave and took it for granted that they should do “their bit” to win the war, whatever it took. I think it resonates with readers particularly now that we are going through a troubled time. Many people feel insecure, and we don’t know where our world is heading. So it’s comforting to read about a period when the good guys did win! 

Q: While this book is part historical fiction, it also involves a mystery and a long-buried family secret. What do you most enjoy about blending genres like mystery and historical fiction, and why do you think they pair together so well? 

A: History and mystery are a perfect blend! Think of the foggy streets of old London, misty castles, the terrific motives for murder: “I love another, but I am not free!” In this case we have the heightened drama of war: small human interpersonal conflict against the background of world conflict. The stakes couldn’t be higher. 

Q: When people think about World War II, they often think about it in terms of what happened in Britain, Germany, or France. Italy, on the other hand, is often considered the forgotten front of WWII — what made you want to write a novel that dealt with WWII Italy in particular? 

A: I remember visiting a small town that had a memorial to the townspeople massacred by the Germans for hiding partisans. A whole town gunned down! That stuck with me. And I think we tend to forget that Italy suffered twice. Under Mussolini they were sent to fight in Africa and were invaded by the Allies, and then when the population turned and refused to help the Germans, they were literally starved to death and had awful punishments inflicted upon them, while their towns were bombed by the Allies. 

Q: We have to ask — what are you working on next? 

A: In the New Year I begin yet another stand-alone novel for Lake Union. This one is not about WWII but about WWI. It’s about a young woman who becomes a land girl, against the wishes of her parents, and about a group of women who have to adapt and take over men’s jobs after their husbands and sons are killed on the front. Its title at the moment (which might change) is The Healing Garden.

Other Titles by Rhys Bowen


n Farleigh Field Constable Evans Mysteries Evans Above Evan Help Us Evanly Choirs Evan and Elle Evan Can Wait Evans to Betsy Evan Only Knows Evan’s Gate Evan Blessed Evanly Bodies Molly Murphy Mysteries Murphy’s Law Death of Riley For the Love of Mike In Like Flynn Oh Danny Boy In Dublin’s Fair City Tell Me, Pretty Maiden In a Gilded Cage The Last Illusion Bless the Bride Hush Now, Don’t You Cry The Family Way City of Darkness and Light The Edge of Dreams Royal Spyness Mysteries Her Royal Spyness A Royal Pain Royal Flush Royal Blood Naughty in Nice The Twelve Clues of Christmas Heirs and Graces Queen of Hearts Malice at the Palace Crowned and Dangerous Away in a Manger Time of Fog and Fire

No Make-Up Mondays ~ Feb 19, 2018

HEART STRONGER by Rachel Blaufeld

SBPRBanner-heartstronger-RB
“So exquisitely titillating, full of hope and second chances, and so honest, this is Rachel Blaufeld’s best and swooniest romance yet! I LOVED it!”
- Katy Evans, New York Times Bestselling Author

The BookEnd ~ Feb 16th, 2018

Happy Friday!
Did you have a fun and frivolous Valentine's day this week?



Whether you are alone or with someone I hope you feel loved :) 


Rough Ride (Chaos #4.5) by Kristen Ashley

Celebrity Book Clubs

The Smallest Part by Amy Harmon

Valentine's Day Giveaway

Currently On Our Insta


Rough Ride (Chaos #4.5) by Kristen Ashley 

Our current review list is full. 
We won't be taking on any new reviews until further notice

To see all our reviews click HERE
or check the sidebar ---->




We have a private book club over on Facebook!
Feel free to check out K&T's Book Babblers!
We have tons of giveaways and we're set as a private group so...
what happens in the group stays in the group! LOL!


Did you know we try to have a monthly Author Spotlight?
They include interviews, special giveaways, and tons of fun getting
to know some of our favorite authors! 

Follow us!

 photo facebook_zpsji9cqdir.png  photo twitter_zps699n4gt5.png  photo pinterest_zpsvq9mvs9h.png  photo tumblr_zpsvhqgwzlu.png 
 photo google_zpsgsmqfhg8.png  photo youtube_zpsyk6o1zar.png  photo email_zpsnd0zixxx.png 

The Smallest Part by Amy Harmon Release Blitz!



                                                     
                                        Heart breaking. Heart healing. Heart melting. 


Celebrity Book Clubs

I love a good book club!
Oprah and Reese Witherspoon have great ones and they just 
announced their new reads.





No make-up Monday Feb 12, 2018

Rough Ride (Chaos #4.5) by Kristen Ashley ~Review~

Hold on to the back of your man’s cut and get ready for one hell of a ride!

KA is back with the boys from Chaos. They’re doing what they do best: keeping it real, keeping it honest, and keeping it together as a family the only way true bikers do. I jumped in and speed read the yummy goodness that is Rough Ride. This is a short, one-sitting kind of read, so I am gonna do you the favor of not saying too much other than that you need to buy it, read it, love it.

True fans of the series will revel in being immersed once again with the Chaos brothers. It’s amazing having moments with the lovely ladies they call their wives and seeing the over the top, leather-clad protectiveness that makes all hearts swoon.

I can’t wait ‘til the next release. (Psssst… there’s a little sneak peek at the end :D)

5 Star Reading, Rock Chicks!
~Tanja


From the cover...

From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Kristen Ashley comes a new story in her Chaos series...

Rosalie Holloway put it all on the line for the Chaos Motorcycle Club.
Informing to Chaos on their rival club—her man’s club, Bounty—Rosalie knows the stakes. And she pays them when her man, who she was hoping to scare straight, finds out she’s betrayed him and he delivers her to his brothers to mete out their form of justice.

But really, Rosie has long been denying that, as she drifted away from her Bounty, she’s been falling in love with Everett “Snapper” Kavanagh, a Chaos brother. Snap is the biker-boy-next door with the snowy blue eyes, quiet confidence and sweet disposition who was supposed to keep her safe... and fell down on that job.

For Snapper, it’s always been Rosalie, from the first time he saw her at the Chaos Compound. He’s just been waiting for a clear shot. But he didn’t want to get it after his Rosie was left bleeding, beat down and broken by Bounty on a cement warehouse floor.

With Rosalie a casualty of an ongoing war, Snapper has to guide her to trust him, take a shot with him, build a them...

And fold his woman firmly in the family that is Chaos.

Note: Every 1001 Dark Nights novella is a standalone story. For new readers, it’s an introduction to an author’s world. And for fans, it’s a bonus book in the author’s series. We hope you'll enjoy each one as much as we do.

The BookEnd ~ Feb 9th, 2018

Happy Friday!
Hope everyone is staying warm. That pesky groundhog decided to see
 his shadow and now we get six more weeks of winter. I guess we can enjoy six 
more weeks of snuggly reading with a warm blanket too :) #silverlining



THE UPSIDE by Abdel Sellou

Next Year in Havana by Chanel Cleeton

A Chapter Before Bed - The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Our current review list is full. 
We won't be taking on any new reviews until further notice

To see all our reviews click HERE
or check the sidebar ---->






We have a private book club over on Facebook!
Feel free to check out K&T's Book Babblers!
We have tons of giveaways and we're set as a private group so...
what happens in the group stays in the group! LOL!



Did you know we have a monthly Author Spotlight?
They include interviews, special giveaways, and tons of fun getting
to know some of our favorite authors! 

Follow us!

 photo facebook_zpsji9cqdir.png  photo twitter_zps699n4gt5.png  photo pinterest_zpsvq9mvs9h.png  photo tumblr_zpsvhqgwzlu.png 
 photo google_zpsgsmqfhg8.png  photo youtube_zpsyk6o1zar.png  photo email_zpsnd0zixxx.png 

Next Year in Havana by Chanel Cleeton

After the death of her beloved grandmother, a Cuban-American woman travels to Havana, where she discovers the roots of her identity--and unearths a family secret hidden since the revolution...

Havana, 1958. The daughter of a sugar baron, nineteen-year-old Elisa Perez is part of Cuba's high society, where she is largely sheltered from the country's growing political unrest--until she embarks on a clandestine affair with a passionate revolutionary...

Miami, 2017. Freelance writer Marisol Ferrera grew up hearing romantic stories of Cuba from her late grandmother Elisa, who was forced to flee with her family during the revolution. Elisa's last wish was for Marisol to scatter her ashes in the country of her birth.

Arriving in Havana, Marisol comes face-to-face with the contrast of Cuba's tropical, timeless beauty and its perilous political climate. When more family history comes to light and Marisol finds herself attracted to a man with secrets of his own, she'll need the lessons of her grandmother's past to help her understand the true meaning of courage.

Get it on Amazon

THE UPDSIDE By Abdel Sellou

The inspirational memoir behind the record-breaking French film Intouchables, hitting the American big screen in 2018 as The Upside, a new major motion picture starring Bryan Cranston, Kevin Hart, and Nicole Kidman.



 “Irreverent and uplifting…it's an unabashedly lighthearted story of transcending socioeconomic, racial and class barriers and finding commonality in humor and honesty.” —Claudia Puig, USA Today THE UPSIDE A MEMOIR OF THE FRIENSHIP THAT INSPIRED THE ACCLAIMED FILM By Abdel Sellou On Sale February 6, 2018 

The real-life chronicle of Abdel Sellou—a young Algerian swindler struggling to find his way through life—and Philippe Pozzo di Borgo—his tetraplegic employer who leads him down a surprising new path— captivated millions in the 2011 film sensation, Intouchables. The film became the all-time highest-grossing foreign language film, and has since surpassed $400 million at the global box office. Soon to be a major motion picture  starring Kevin Hart, Bryan Cranston, and Nicole Kidman, THE UPSIDE (on sale February 6, 2018) goes behind the silver screen to reveal, in Sellou’s own words, a story of unexpected friendship and personal transformation.



 For all the tall tales he tells throughout his youth, Sellou could never have dreamed of befriending a wealthy aristocrat from Paris’s swanky 16th arrondissement. At age four, Sellou and his brother are shipped off from their native Algiers to the heart of the French capital to live with their new guardians, Uncle Belkacem and Aunt Amina. The couple—no children of their own, naïve to the ground rules of parenting—give Sellou what every boy dreams of: total freedom. Sellou immediately sheds the shackles of society’s rules and boundaries, and youthful innocence gives way to cunning and deceit. Forged parental signatures become stolen sweatshirts and shoes; at age ten, he has his first police encounter for extorting one of his classmates. Sellou soon abandons school altogether, preferring to pinch cameras and Walkmen off unsuspecting tourists in Trocadéro than answer to the administration. Trips to the principal’s office are exchanged for time spent in handcuffs, though his artful smooth-talking and youth prevent the law from taking him out of the game for too long. That is, until his eighteenth birthday, when pickpocketing and assault land him his first prison sentence. Ten months behind bars does little for Sellou except strengthen his conviction that he’s destined for a life of petty crime. Except now, he’s got counselors pushing him to find a job, and why not: a few months of menial work followed by a speedy resignation will land the next set of unemployment checks. But then a job lead sends Sellou to avenue Léopold II, to interview for a position as the “life auxiliary to a tetraplegic person.” This first meeting between Sellou and his lifelong friend Philippe Pozzo di Borgo begins with a demand for a signature as proof for the unemployment office. It ends with an offer Sellou can’t refuse: full-time work caring for the wheelchair-bound man and an apartment all his own. Almost instantly, the bond between Sellou and Philippe begins to solidify. It is strengthened by the good times they share together: Sellou’s effortless humor, Monsieur Pozzo’s toothy laughter, joy rides in the Jaguar XJS, family trips to the south of France. It is tested through the death of Philippe’s wife, Béatrice, and his constant, chronic pain. Sellou devotes himself to his employer and friend, and his life of crime starts to seem far behind him. Sellou arrived on that first day thinking he wouldn’t stay ten minutes. He ends up staying ten years. Told through the honest, humorous, and compelling voice of Sellou, and with a forward by Philippe Pozzo di Borgo himself, THE UPSIDE is a page-turning memoir that demonstrates how believing in someone else can allow you to finally start believing in yourself. . . . . . . . . Abdel Sellou now lives in Algeria with his wife and three children, where he runs a chicken farm. He remains close to Philippe Pozzo di Borgo, who lives in Morocco with his second wife and two children. . . . . . . . . 


THE UPDSIDE A Memoir of the Friendship that Inspired the Acclaimed Film By Abdel Sellou | Memoir | On Sale February 6, 2018 Trade Paperback $15.99 | 224 Pages ISBN-13: 978-1-60286-570-9

The BookEnd ~ Feb 2nd, 2018

Happy Friday and welcome February!
The month of love is here.


Time to celebrate with romance reads that make you smolder or 
sweet reads to make you smile. Whatever your preferred reading we
hope that you find something that makes your heart sing.


Emerald Lily Juliette Cross

Look the Part by Jewel E. Ann

About that Kiss by Jill Shalvis

MURDER NOTES by Lisa Renee Jones

Our current review list is full. 
We won't be taking on any new reviews until further notice

To see all our reviews click HERE
or check the sidebar ---->




We have a private book club over on Facebook!
Feel free to check out K&T's Book Babblers!
We have tons of giveaways and we're set as a private group so...
what happens in the group stays in the group! LOL!



Did you know we have a monthly Author Spotlight?
They include interviews, special giveaways, and tons of fun getting
to know some of our favorite authors! 

Follow us!

 photo facebook_zpsji9cqdir.png  photo twitter_zps699n4gt5.png  photo pinterest_zpsvq9mvs9h.png  photo tumblr_zpsvhqgwzlu.png 
 photo google_zpsgsmqfhg8.png  photo youtube_zpsyk6o1zar.png  photo email_zpsnd0zixxx.png 

MURDER NOTES by Lisa Renee Jones

New York Times bestselling author Lisa Renee Jones’s heart-pounding thriller of a woman’s secrets—and a past that’s about to come out of hiding…

As an FBI profiler, it’s Lilah Love’s job to think like a killer. And she is very good at her job. When a series of murders surface—the victims all stripped naked and shot in the head—Lilah’s instincts tell her it’s the work of an assassin, not a serial killer. But when the case takes her back to her hometown in the Hamptons and a mysterious but unmistakable connection to her own life, all her assumptions are shaken to the core.

Thrust into a troubled past she’s tried to shut the door on, Lilah’s back in the town where her father is mayor, her brother is police chief, and she has an intimate history with the local crime lord’s son, Kane Mendez. The two share a devastating secret, and only Kane understands Lilah’s own darkest impulses. As more corpses surface, so does a series of anonymous notes to Lilah, threatening to expose her. Is the killer someone in her own circle? And is she the next target?


BUY LINKS



ABOUT THAT KISS by Jill Shalvis


(a standalone Heartbreaker Bay novel)


When love drives you crazy . . .
When sexy Joe Malone never calls after their explosive kiss, Kylie shoves him out of her mind. Until she needs a favor, and it’s a doozy. Something precious to her has been stolen and there’s only one person with unique finder-and-fixer skills that can help—Joe. It means swallowing her pride and somehow trying to avoid the temptation to throttle him—or seduce him.

the best thing to do . . .
No, Joe didn’t call after the kiss. He’s the fun time guy, not the forever guy. And Kylie, after all she’s been through, deserves a good man who will stay. But everything about Kylie makes it damned hard to focus, and though his brain knows what he has to do, his heart isn’t getting the memo.

… is enjoy the ride.
As Kylie and Joe go on the scavenger hunt of their lives, they discover surprising things about each other. Now, the best way for them to get over “that kiss” might just be to replace it with a hundred more. 


ABOUT JILL SHALVIS

New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis lives in a small town in the Sierras full of quirky characters. Any resemblance to the quirky characters in her books is, um, mostly coincidental. Look for Jill’s bestselling, award-winning books wherever romances are sold and visit her website, www.jillshalvis.com, for a complete book list and daily blog detailing her city-girl-living-in-the-mountains adventures.


Connect with Jill
Facebook: @JillShalvis
Twitter: @JillShalvis

BUY LINKS for ABOUT THAT KISS:
IndieBound: http://bit.ly/2DHAnxo
Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/2mGIuC8
Books-A-Million: http://bit.ly/2ETb4Id
GooglePlay: http://bit.ly/2EsNr99